Running As Tourism – Cleveland

This past weekend, my wife approached me about going out of town for the night, to Cleveland.  I was for it, but I had to also log a fifteen-mile run on Sunday, with the group.  After some thinking, I reached a compromise: Log the fifteen, but up in Cleveland.  (Since I use RunKeeper, I could also have some sort of record of the run.)  Then, I had to think of what Mrs. would have to do for the two-plus hours while I was out, so I suggested that we bring a bike and she ride along.  (Which also helped me some because I could put some of the things, like GU and water, on the bike and not have to worry about carrying them along with me.)  She agreed, so when we got up there, I suited up and hit the road.  We stayed at the Radisson across from “The Q”, where the Cavs play, and my run was sited mostly along the Erie shore, so we had to pick our way through downtown before getting into it in earnest.  Once we turned onto Marginal from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, it was a leisurely stroll eastward, past the airport, numerous marinas, a couple parks, to the (affluent) suburb of Bratenahl, and back.  On the way back, I wanted to loop through a nature preserve that was on the shore, but it was fenced off, so I added distance by adding a lap around Cleveland Browns Stadium and then back.  All in all, it was fun, and Mrs. had a fun time as well.  I’ll post pictures later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment